top of page
Search
  • John T. Heise

WO-4 HERSHEL "WOODY" WILLIAMS (USMC, WWII)

Updated: Apr 21, 2019


Duty.  Webster’s Dictionary defines duty as “a moral or legal obligation,” but when this word is put under unfathomable stressors, without undaunted courage, it stands as nothing more than that.  It’s simply a word scrawled out on some pages of a book in the reference section of your local book store or library. It is so unbelievably painless to speak of duty where visions of American flags waving in the wind



awards pinned on puffed-out chests, and victorious parades become present in our mind’s eye.  But, what is duty without action? We often hear this word when our greatest generation speaks out through historical records.

“I was just doing my duty…” “I did my duty and that’s all there was to it…” “I knew I had to do my duty for my men…”

There are countless records of this common identifier amongst those who have faced astronomically adverse circumstances..... Click here to continue







To all who served "Thank You!"

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page